Press "Enter" to skip to content

CDL License Classifications

Last updated on October 3, 2022

There are three (3) different CDL License Classifications. Commercial drivers have different types of licenses, ranging from Class A to C. Class A licenses allow drivers to operate truck and trailer combinations, and tankers. Class B licenses are also for vehicles carrying up to 16 passengers. They may also be used to drive large buses and segmented buses.

These licenses often have special endorsements, such as the ability to haul hazardous materials. A commercial vehicle is one that is driven primarily to transport people or property for compensation. Commercial drivers must meet the medical requirements to operate a heavy vehicle. These licenses can only be acquired after a thorough medical examination and before training.

CDL License Classifications:

The Federal standard requires States to issue a CDL license to drivers according to the following CDL license classifications:

Class A — Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.

49 CFR 383.91(a)(1)

Class B — Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.

49 CFR 383.91(a)(2)

Class C — Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.

49 CFR 383.91(a)(3)

For more complete details and information please refer to 49 CFR 383.91

Source: 49 CFR 383

Comments are closed.